Can I ask for my upgrade miles back?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by riverchica, Jun 15, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. riverchica
    Original Member

riverchica Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm a physician and I've volunteered to help ill passengers on several flights in the past. Apart from a thank you card from a patient's husband, I've never received any sort of compensation or accommodation. And I've never asked.

But I'm wondering if I could ask for my upgrade miles back from a Continental flight last week. I used 15,000 miles/$75 to upgrade to first on a red-eye flight. I had come off a 30-hour ICU shift and was headed straight to a conference after the flight so the red-eye was my only chance to catch some sleep. Instead, I spent almost the entirety of the flight attending to two(!) ill passengers.

Is it reasonable to ask for my miles back? Have other docs gotten some sort of accommodation for helping out?

2. mht_flyer
    Original Member

mht_flyer Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm not sure if they will give the miles back, but certainly doesn't hurt to ask them.

3. Halothane
    Original Member

Halothane Silver Member

Status Points:
    You can certainly write CO and request it but I wouldn't hold my breath. UA on the other hand has always been most generous with providing goodwill gestures when I've been involved with an ill pax. I've also had pursers give me skykits.

4. SirRagnar
    Original Member

SirRagnar Silver Member

Status Points:
    mht_flyer and sobore like this.
  5. sobore
    Original Member

sobore Gold Member

Status Points:
  6. riverchica
    Original Member

riverchica Silver Member

Status Points:
    Wow! I'm even registered as a doctor with Continental. Are there other airlines that offer similar bonuses?
    I'll e-mail Continental today and let you guys know what I hear.

7. Flyer1976
    Original Member

Flyer1976 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Good Luck!

8. stan
    Original Member