Buying Miles

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by nleuck, Feb 4, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. nleuck

nleuck Member

Status Points:
    Newbie here. I hope this hasn't been covered; my search didn't deliver anything...

I've seen the deals that airlines have been putting out to buy miles. I'v read about when buying miles can be a good idea (topping off, etc.) I can see how you can figure out exactly what it ends up costing on a per mile basis. My question: Is there a good rule of thumb for what is considered a decent deal for just straight up buying miles to have them? (i.e. what is a good cut-off price? 2 cents per mile and under? less?)

travelpye, MX and Sweet Willie like this.
  2. malikguy

malikguy Silver Member

Status Points:
    For AA, generally miles are estimated to be conservatively worth 1.8 - 2.3 cents per mile so the current 90K Buy Miles deal is a good deal for AA. You can use this as a good cost basis.

If flying with AA, try to book MileSAAver tickets whenever you can and I think for the most part that you will get the best value out of International fares. Try to treat your miles like cash based on the cost basis I provided and it will definitely help you determine if you are getting the best value for your miles.

I don't know how this translates for other airlines but I do know it will vary quite a bit. I personally like to buy miles because I can float the cash and I know that I will always have International travel planned.

MX likes this.
  3. Sweet Willie
    Original Member

Sweet Willie Gold Member

Status Points:
    I personally wouldn't buy miles unless I have a specific use in mind for the purchased miles. An easy rule of thumb, is it cheaper to purchase miles than to buy the ticket you have in mind? (& is award space usually available for the route/class of cabin you want?).

4. anabolism
    Original Member

anabolism Gold Member

Status Points:
    My advice? Forget the rules you read about 2c/mile or whatever.