Budapest, Hungary

Discussion in 'Europe' started by WilCo, Feb 9, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. WilCo
    Original Member

WilCo Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm new in Budapest, but have many connections I can check with if I don't know the answer. If you are looking for some tips, please feel free to ask!

2. noname2
    Original Member

noname2 Silver Member

Status Points:
    We were in Budapest last year, for our 2nd time. I have to say it is truly one of our favorite cities. So many great cultural experiences! Both visits we have stayed at the Castle Hilton and been upgraded to very unique rooms. This last time we had 3 rooms with a step down alcove containing full crank out windows.
    I love Hilton's way of incorporating the old castle walls into the new hotel. Makes for a truly unique property.
    On Castle Hill, the "authentic" Hungarian restaurants were plentiful. Each one was fantastic.
    My grown children have received a chuckle from some of the local color. Never fails when wandering the markets and area near the Hotel Intercontinental in the evenings, there has been an occasion to become momentarily separated from Mr. Noname. We've returned to find a rather flustered husband and father as he's been offered the services of the local ladies of the night. Our grown son is envious as he's not once been solicited!
    I might add this is an obvious tourist area as it iss where the river cruises depart from.
    In terms of river cruises, this is an event I would highly recommend doing at night. Seeing all the prominent buildings lit up or spot lighted gave quite a sense of the beauty this city holds.

3. ArizonaGuy
    Original Member

ArizonaGuy Silver Member

Status Points:
    I think not visiting one of the thermal baths is a great disservice to oneself. Szechenyi is my favorite (especially in winter when it's so cold out!) but Gellert is fancy. Tourists are welcome at either place. And prudish need not worry, no you don't go in au naturel!