Booking through Amex Travel

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by Handleman20, Jul 9, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Handleman20

Handleman20 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Okay, I just got a corp Amex card (only green, sigh) and signed up for Membership Rewards. My question is, if I book through Amex's travel portal, does that negatively affect my ability to earn miles/hotel points? I know that's a total noob question but hey, I'm a total noob when it comes to Amex!

marcwint55 likes this.
  2. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points:
    It has no affect on getting points and you will often get some extra perks by booking through Amex. The one caveat is that you can sometimes find better rates than what you get with Amex.

3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    A
    Are there perks from using the ordinary green card's online booking website as opposed to the Platinum Card's PTS or Centurion's CTS? The only perk I can imagine is the special AmEx select rates on some hotels. AFAIK there's an airline ticketing fee, probably about $35 per ticket which is what PTS charges.

marcwint55 likes this.
  4. websteth

websteth Silver Member

Status Points:
    I booked a hotel on the website and Hilton would not honor the points as they saw it as a Travelocity order. But I did get double Membership Rewards.

MX likes this.
  5. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points:
    I don't know of any. I didn't realize that PTS charged a fee. I always use CTS when I am using Amex and they have never charged me a fee. They even book award tickets on any airline as long as I have miles at no cost.

6. desamo

desamo Gold Member

Status Points:
    I haven't booked Hilton that way (as I have a Hilton Amex), but I did get points for both Fairmont and Hyatt as well as MR points. Also got an upgrade at Fairmont. (I am a Gold cardmember, though, so that was a specific Gold benefit.)

7. NYBanker