Booking RT award segments as one-ways

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Tlamm, May 5, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Tlamm

Tlamm Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi, newbie here. Just wondering if there is a drawback booking one-way/one-way award tickets on CO/UA? Since their award chart 'talks' in one-way miles needed, I figure one can book tickets in one-way segments if the return segment is not available yet (ie, still >330 days out thereby not being able to book yet)? Thanks.

2. mherdeg
    Original Member

mherdeg Silver Member

Status Points:
    One salient difference: round-trip award tickets come with a free stopover.

For example, you can fly IAD-FRA, hang out in FRA for a week, FRA-FCO, hang out in FCO for a week, then go home FCO-IAD, all on a single round-trip award.

If you booked that as two one-ways you could only do a one-way IAD-FRA-FCO plus a one-way FCO-IAD. (You would, however, be able to build a double open jaw trip -- for example IAD-FRA-FCO followed by FRA-EWR...)

desamo likes this.
  3. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    Two PNRs could also mean two change/redeposit fees.

On the other hand, as a 1K I like booking one-ways as it makes changes really easy for me.

4. Tlamm

Tlamm Active Member

Status Points:
    Thank you mherdeg and HaveMileswilltravel. Something to think about - the redeposit fees and the stopovers. Can't quite understand 'open-jaw' bookings. Sorry. I'm new to this. My plan to fly MCO-MNL. Stay MNL for 2 weeks. Then MNL-DPS and stay at DPS for 3 weeks before returning DPS-MCO. I thought I can book first using miles for the MCO-MNL segment, then book locally flights MNL-DPS (and paying) and use miles again for the DPS-MCO booking later. Does this sound ok? Or, am I wasting miles by paying and not including the MNL-DPS segment to the itinerary?Don't know if I have enough miles to include MNL-DPS in this itinerary? Thanks.

5. lrluis