Booking convoluted itineraries on Qantas and partners

Discussion in 'Qantas Airways | Frequent Flyer' started by jpatokal, Feb 18, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. jpatokal
    Original Member

jpatokal Silver Member

Status Points:
    So I'm fairly new to Australia and looking to book a fairly convoluted itinerary on QF and AY, namely MEL-SYD-NRT-HEL and back. Most online search engines (including qantas.com) seem incapable of coming up with sensible prices for this, but Hipmunk indicates that I can get a ~$2200 fare if I start from Sydney. However, not only do I want to start from Melbourne, but I need to stopover in Tokyo for a few nights on the way.

My question is thus simple: how do I go about searching & booking this? Is there an online site that offers full fare rules and availability (yes, I am thinking about signing up for ExpertFlyer/KVS), and once I've got the flights sorted out, how do I actually book it?

2. Globaliser
    Original Member

Globaliser Silver Member

Status Points:
    If this is an entirely kosher itinerary without any tricks involved, why wouldn't one of these two options work?
    1. Phone Qantas; or
    2. Go to a travel agent.

3. jpatokal
    Original Member

jpatokal Silver Member

Status Points:
    The first half of the problem is simply exploring the options, and hanging out on the phone for an hour explaining what it is I want to do, checking the fare rules and hoping the agent has half a clue is not my idea of a good time.

Assuming I do figure out the itinerary (and I'm increasingly leaning towards doing all the footwork myself), is the average Flight Centre (or equivalent) happy to/capable of dealing with a customer who knows and insists on a precise set of fare rules to use, and how do commissions etc work out? Qantas apparently charges $35/person for phone bookings.

4. Globaliser
    Original Member

Globaliser Silver Member

Status Points: