Blue Cash Everyday or the new Everyday card?

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by traveltoomuch, May 27, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. traveltoomuch

traveltoomuch Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm planning to downgrade my Starwood Amex to a no-annual-fee card of some sort, and I'm debating which to get. I'm also completely new to MR, so just being told about the virtues of MR (v. lesser point currencies or cash) might be useful. I'm considering:
    • The new Everyday card: 2x MR on groceries, 1x MR on everything else. 10k MR signup bonus. But should I hold off for a better signup bonus later? The most valuable transfer partners for me likely include BA Avios or Singapore Kris Flyer.
    • The Blue Cash Everyday card: 3% cash on groceries, 2% gas. No signup bonus.
    • The (non-Surpass) Hilton card: 5x HH on gas and groceries (and dining, but I have CSP for that). I already have this card, but I'm including it as a baseline, since it has bonuses in similar categories, so it could be a fine place to put this same spending.
    Likely spending includes groceries, gas, and pretty much anything durable - the latter being cases where I want Amex's return protection and/or extended warranty. I likely will not have enough transactions to qualify for the 20% bonus on the Everyday card. As documented in this thread, my best current alternatives for gas & groceries are the (discontinued) UA Select Visa or the Hilton card. The Costco Amexs offer better gas bonuses (3% or 4%) but lack Return Protection, which is why it's not being considered right now.

MX likes this.
  2. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points: