Best way to get to the Maldives from the US using miles

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by erfan, Jul 9, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. erfan

erfan New Member

Status Points:
    Hello all! Im a newbie here and wanted to get your input. I'm thinking of going to the Maldives for my honeymoon sometime in October 2015. I'm very new to the concept of utilizing credit card bonus miles, but I'm very interested in it.

From the research I conducted, it seems like AA awards is the way to go using Etihad as the carrier. However, when I look at the dates for the award tickets, it says its all sold out. But when I look at the same trip as 2 separate one way tickets, I have alot more options.

I was wondering if anyone had any other opinions or advice on which credit cards and airlines to use for this trip. . Appreciate all the help in advance!

PS. I'm hoping to fly either business or first if possible. I have almost no miles in any program either.

2. eponymous_coward
    Original Member

eponymous_coward Gold Member

Status Points:
    Welcome!

You're going to need 270,000 AA miles to fly two people round trip from the USA in Etihad C to MLE.
    You would need 360,000 AA miles to do a similar trip in F.

Given that you have almost no miles, you're going to be applying for a lot of credit cards all at the same time (the "App-O-Rama"), and possibly creating a very large amount of manufactured spend, all in a fairly short time, given that October 2015 is all of 3 months away, and presumably you'll want to confirm flights, hotels and so on before the wedding.

What you propose can be done but the person in that link who did it is experienced. Also, it may be difficult to do all of that in ONE airline's program. You're probably going to need as many AMEX/Citi/Barclay/whatever products you can get your hands on, and to not be picky about where the miles come from...

anileze and satman40 like this.
  3. mattsteg
    Original Member

mattsteg Gold Member

Status Points: