Best way to earn miles with a spouse?

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by jasonmh26, Apr 21, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jasonmh26

jasonmh26 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hi All,

I am a newbie with a miles question; hopefully I am posting this in the right place. I am just getting started with the miles/points programs. I recently got an SPG AmEx and at CitiAA card.
    My wife and I usually (not always) travel together. I am trying to build up some awards that I can use for a really big trip for her 50th birthday.
    So now I have 2 credit cards in my name only. Is it a good idea to also get a set of cards in her name, and use the same FF member # that I already have? For example, if she also gets a CitiAA card in her own name under a separate account, can she put my AAdvantage number so that the points funnel to one account? Or is it better to treat them separately, and build up points under 2 different AA member #s?
    Trying to figure out how to maximize the benefits/awards.

Thanks for your help,
    Jason

Kalboz and perryplatypus like this.
  2. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

HaveMilesWillTravel Gold Member

Status Points:
    Hi Jason,

welcome to MilePoint.

The name on the credit card account generally needs to match the name on the loyalty program account. I haven't personally tried it, but I wouldn't expect you to be able to have your wife's credit card feed into your AA or SPG accounts.

Kalboz and perryplatypus like this.
  3. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    MUCH MORE IMPORTANTLY YOUR WIFE NEEDS CREDIT CARDS IN HER OWN NAME. What if something were to happen to you? What if she had an emergency when you're not around? What if you get divorced? Welcome to the nineteenth century.

4. HaveMilesWillTravel
    Original Member

Status Points: