Best Way to Accumulate AS redeemable miles

Discussion in 'Alaska Airlines | Mileage Plan' started by muflyer, Feb 13, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. muflyer

muflyer Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to the AS program and I am wondering what's the best way to accumulate a significant redeemable miles balance. I am not based in an AS gateway city so I won't be flying alot. I am curious if there are sign up bonuses for the program, and certain non flying ways to accumulate miles.

Thanks!

2. dgreen12
    Original Member

dgreen12 Silver Member

Status Points:
    The AS Visa (through Bank of America "BofA") will help --- but the strategy I'll discuss will have its own risks for Mileage Plan members who aren't Gold members.

Alaska gives a 1,000 mile booking bonus for each trip purchased on its website using the AS BofA Visa card.

What I do (but keep in mind I'm an MVP Gold --- this is where things can get seriously messed up for you) is buy two one-way tickets when I book a trip. That way I get the actual mileage for the trips, plus two 1,000 mile booking bonuses --- one for each direction).

Where non-Golds can get messed up with this strategy is if you have to make a change to your trip, you're making two changes --- each with their own set of change fees. Golds are exempt from change fees, so it's a low risk proposition for me --- a higher risk proposition for non-Golds.

The strategy will garner triple miles for short trips (e.g., GEG to SEA to GEG gets me two sets of 500 miles for flying the two segments round trip plus two 1,000 mile booking bonuses for a total of 3,000 miles).

If you're not going to be flying much, then you may wish to look at the Starwood Amex card. $20,000 of spending translates in to 25,000 miles that can be transferred into the AS Mileage Plan.

hulagrrl210 likes this.
  3. AKGUY
    Original Member

AKGUY Silver Member

Status Points:
    The one way ticketing is the key. Double the miles for a round trip.

4. jackal