Best Use of FF Miles for International Trip?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by moongoddess, Aug 27, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. moongoddess

moongoddess Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hello! I’m new to using FF miles, and could use some guidance on how to make the most of the ones I have. I’m not a frequent flyer (2-3 times/year); to date, most of my travel has been domestic, but I have visited the UK and New Zealand, and am about to go to Central Europe for three weeks this September. Assuming traveling solo in Europe doesn’t totally freak me out, I plan to do more international travel in the future. Specifically, I’m in the very early stages of planning a 2-week trip to the Netherlands and Belgium in April 2012, and am thinking about possibly spending 2-3 weeks in Switzerland and Austria in September 2012.

I’m a member of the American Airlines FF program, and right now have 82,000 AAdvantage miles to play with. I don’t fly enough to care about getting elite status; the perks that come with a business class ticket are enough for me. So I’m mainly interested in using my miles for award tickets or upgrades. I do have the Citibank AAdvantiage card, and estimate I can get between 10,000 to 30,000 miles per year just from using that card.

So, here’s my (pleasant!) dilemma: which of the following three options uses those precious miles the most efficiently?