Best time window to book award tickets

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by r0m8470, Oct 29, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. r0m8470

r0m8470 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hello, I am a newbie on the FF game.

Have some questions:
    - What is the best time window to book award ticket - is it a year ahead, 10 months ahead, 8 months ahead?
    - Or is there no such thing as 'good' window vs 'bad' window?

I am trying to find 2 award spaces from Western Europe (AA and United) next summer (July 2015) and it's quite difficult. It's a lot easier to find spaces from US to Europe rather than the other way around. I've looked at different city pairs and use a lot of permutations (on UA: FRA-IAD/IAH/ORD, CPH-IAD/IAH/ORD/EWR, and few others), and also AA. It's very difficult to find business savers spots.

I also tried ExpertFlyer and no dice there as well. Is this common - or am I searching too early? Do I search closer to the travel date? Do I search a few months before? Do I look for the longest segments first, then try to piece together the shorter segments?

Thank you and all pointers are appreciated!

2. lapointdm

lapointdm Silver Member

Status Points:
    hmm.. well there are different train of thoughts on this. Some people say book as soon as possible for your flight which is roughly 365 to 330 ish days on many carriers. The thought being if there are open flights you'll have first dibs. Some say wait until it's rather close to the flight date - 3 to 1 month out because more award seeing will be available if regular seating doesn't sell. Some people say order whenever because seats are opened up over time. I'd say I've personally had more luck planning well in advance for tickets for 4 people, but that might not matter so much if it is just one person. Also some people use programs like expert flyer to "check" for seating for them and notify when things come open.