Best Star Alliance Program for me?

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by jpmorgan, Oct 7, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. jpmorgan

jpmorgan Member

Status Points:
    I'm a newbie at all of this, so please forgive my ignorance.
    I'm about to book a trip to Sweden from RDU on United (business travel requires cheapest coach class booking).
    I noticed that I don't have to join to United's program, but any one of the Star Alliance programs. So I wanted to know what you all thought was best for me.

To help out, here's a little bit about myself:
    I fly mostly for business and that is mostly US and Canada, but an occasional trip to Sweden (Stockholm). I must book cheapest economy fare in Concur or Amex Travel that fits my schedule.
    It's a suggestion to book layovers if cheaper
    I have to pay using my corporate card.
    I mostly want status for me when I travel, but would like to book an occasional free flight (probably international, since we can do SW for domestic)
    I will originate and end almost all flights at RDU.

If you need any extra information, just ask.

Thanks.

harvson3, Jimgotkp and marcwint55 like this.
  2. Jimgotkp
    Original Member

Jimgotkp Gold Member

Status Points:
    Roughly how many miles do you fly a year? So, free int'l flights is the most important thing to you not lounge access or domestic upgrades?

marcwint55 and jpmorgan like this.
  3. jpmorgan

jpmorgan Member

Status Points:
    Sorry, I probably wasn't clear. I think domestic upgrades are more important than free int'l flights. Int'l flights would be second consideration.

As for # of miles a year, I'm not sure yet. I just started this job, and it's really different from my last one. I'm at the mercy of my customers, but I've been told they think I'm 40% travel.

Right now it seems like most of my travel will be western US, as that's where the projects are right now, but that can change.

Jimgotkp and marcwint55 like this.
  4. Jimgotkp
    Original Member