Best Single Machine Laptop for a Traveler

Discussion in 'Travel Technology' started by gleff, Jun 5, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points:
    I'm asking this question too late, on Friday I just agreed to my IT department's suggestion for the new machine that they're going to get me.

I've been using a Lenovo x200s for a couple of years. I'm an absolute idiot, I cracked the case that houses the screen. Well, the missing piece from the case is currently covered in duct tape, and it's about to become IT's problem whether to fix/replace or do whatever with it...

I use one machine. A laptop that is my desktop and that I carry with me -- between my two offices, home with me, and on travel.

They've ordered me a new Samsung Series 9. Hard drive is a bit small (128mb) but I'm picking up a 1TB portable hard drive which I won't really ever carry with me. Need to have them grab me 3 extra power adapters (so I have one in each office, one at home, and one for travel).

My only real concern is the 13.1" screen. Now, the laptop is light enough at 2.8lbs but the screen is bigger than I've been using. My concern? It's great for flying up front but what happens -- as is often the case -- when I grab a US Airways flight out of DCA, I'm not a US Airways elite but they're plenty convenient to me for a hop down to CLT, FLL, etc. So I'm in back, and someone in front of me reclines, my x200s has been wonderful in this case.

I also haven't seen a power tip for my Kensington adapter for UA flights where I need empower...

So have I made a big mistake?

What's your current take on best single-machine laptop for a frequent flyer?

JSpira and SC Flier like this.
  2. SC Flier
    Original Member

SC Flier Gold Member

Status Points:
    You might want to seriously consider upgrading that hard drive. My Droid smartphone has 4x that! ;)

3. gleff
    Original Member

gleff Co-founder

Status Points: