Best flights between London and Madrid?

Discussion in 'Europe' started by tahewett, Mar 6, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. tahewett
    Original Member

tahewett Silver Member

Status Points:
    Hello gang,

My wife, daughter (who will be 2 yrs old), my folks and myself will be in London for a few days in early October before heading to Madrid. We've already booked tickets for the 5 of us on the TATL portion of the trip, but we're still filling in the details for the rest of the trip.

I have no experience with intra-Europe flying, so I'm looking for any recommendations for a non-stop, cheap-to-reasonably priced flight from London to Madrid. My wife and I are normally *A people but my parents have no preference or status with anyone, so if I can do this on a *A carrier that would be a bonus but it's not an absolute necessity on this trip. Any suggestions?

Thanks much in advance.

2. I think you are out of luck for any direct *A flights out of London. Without the possibility of rewards I would imagine a LCC might be a good an option as any?

If so, LTN-MAD on easyJet is fine for such a short flight in my opinion, but that is the opinion of a solo traveller that lives a mile from LTN. I am not sure I would be so happy making the trip from central London with such a large party, even with EZY tickets at around £25. Largely due to the fact that it is a little less accessible compared to the other airports in the area (LTN is the only London airport without a direct rail link).

In your shoes, I would book LGW-MAD with easyJet and take the Gatwick Express from Victoria.

For future reference, skyscanner.net is a very good tool for comparing European flights.

tahewett likes this.
  3. tahewett
    Original Member

tahewett Silver Member

Status Points: