Benefit of getting an extra stopover on an award ticket?

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Roaddoggin, Dec 3, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Roaddoggin

Roaddoggin Silver Member

Status Points:
    So, I refrained from asking this question in the session at FTU as I'm guessing its a complete newbie question, but I seem to be missing something.

Folks were talking about how great it is that you could fly from LAX to FRA to SIN for the same or less redemption as you might fly from LAX to SIN directly (as an example that may not be entirely accurate).

So, since I'm under the impression that the airlines typically limit you to no more than a 24 hour stopover, how is this beneficial? You don't earn miles on an award ticket, and with less than 24 hours in FRA, it seems silly for me to spend all that extra travel time. What am I going to do, have some apfelwein and handkäse then get back on the plane?

I'm not sure if I'm missing something about stopover rules or if I just don't share everyone else's desire to spend unnecessary time in transit.

2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    You're stop in FRA can be greater than 24.

If it was lax - FRA (stopover) - bkk (less than 24) - sin. You could stay in FRA as long as you want. You're subsequent connectors have to be under 23:59

3. Roaddoggin

Roaddoggin Silver Member

Status Points:
    Ah-ha! Is this an industry wide or carrier specific rule? Do you get one unlimited stopover per itinerary?

Thanks for indulging a newbie.

4. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    I know this works for UA.