Backup Hotel Loyalty Program for 2013

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by xnchicago, Dec 27, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. xnchicago

xnchicago Active Member

Status Points:
    Hello All, I'm relatively new to this as I changed jobs back in August and now find myself on the road constantly. I'm looking for a backup hotel loyalty program. I'll make SPG Platinum Ambassador the day after tomorrow and plan to repeat it next year. I'm leaning toward Marriott, but Hilton is a close second and I'd even consider IHG. I travel mostly in the US for work, but might start going to parts of Asia and Latin America. When I travel for pleasure, I tend to go to Europe and Canada, but plan to visit new places. I'm looking for a rewarding plan with good amenities and good coverage to compliment Starwood. All three of the programs I'm considering seem to have their strengths and weaknesses so I'm reaching out to all of you for your thoughts...

2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Marriott has a big footprint, including lots of choices for extended stay properties. They're consistent but don't offer lots of amenities, with Gold (50 nights) and Platinum (75 nights) benefits looking very similar, although Plat and especially Platinum Premier (invitation only, unpublished criteria) seem to get priority for upgrades.

3. xnchicago

xnchicago Active Member

Status Points:
    Thanks MSPeconomist. Is it true that Courtyard does not provide free breakfast for elite members?

4. Santander

Santander Silver Member

Status Points:
    If you're a short stays kind of guy like me who has no hope of getting 50 nights with two chains you might want to consider Hilton. Their Gold tier (16 stays) is one of the better mid-tier hotel statuses to reach. Free breakfast, free Internet and occasional Executive floor/suite upgrades... and they have lots of fast-track promotions to help you hit the ground running.