BA Visa card "experts" - newbie needs help!

Discussion in 'Newbies' started by Donnaz, Apr 27, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Donnaz

Donnaz New Member

Status Points:
    Hi there BA Visa card "experts"! I'm a newbie at playing the points game & am hoping some of you seasoned players can help. I am looking to travel from the NY/NJ area to London this summer with my family (husband & 2 teens) & was thinking about getting the BA Visa card. It looks like the "deal" they are currently offering is $95 annual fee, 50,000 bonus Avios if you spend $1,000 in the first 90 days & a "travel together ticket" if you spend $30,000/year. My first question is...When do they post the 50,000 bonus miles to your account? Is it when you "hit" the $1,000 or after 3 months? I was thinking it might be possible to redeem the bonus miles towards upgrading the 4 of us from Premium Economy to Business. Second question... Do you cash in Avios for upgrades at the time of making your reservation or can this be gone at a later date? Any thoughts would be appreciated!!!

MX likes this.
  2. jeffrey930

jeffrey930 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I think for chase its when your statement closed once you meet the spend requirement.

3. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    If they're like other Chase cards, the points will post once your statement generates adter you hit spend requirement.

Not sure about the rest of your questions

alohastephen and Donnaz like this.
  4. alohastephen

alohastephen Gold Member

Status Points:
    Don't forget that both Chase UR and Amex MR points can also be transferred to BA Avios.
    This makes it relatively easy to accumulate a ton of BA points.

Donnaz likes this.
  5. Donnaz

Donnaz New Member

Status Points:
    Thanks Jeffrey930 & edekda! It sounds like you both have experience with the Chase Sapphire card. Do you think this would be a better option. If I recall correctly, the Chase points can be redeemed on BA.

6. edekba

edekba Gold Member