BA Metal Award help: SFO - Paris/Berlin

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by adamhoolhorst, Sep 27, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. adamhoolhorst

adamhoolhorst Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to this game, so I appreciate the help in advance.

I have a business trip that just came up in Paris and Berlin, for a week each. I'd like to use my fiance's BA miles to fly her out, preferably in F. It's easy enough to get SFO - CDG and back, it's Berlin that seems to be the problem. Should I just not bother and get her to Berlin from Paris by train? I'l like to avoid the 1 partner award if possible.

Thanks

2. JohnDeere19
    Original Member

JohnDeere19 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Just to be clear, you want to get her SFO-CDG-TXL-SFO or SFO-CDG-TXL-CDG-SFO or some other variation?

3. adamhoolhorst

Status Points:
    Yup. I can't find CDG-TXL, only CDG-LHR-TXL. Can you route SFO-LHR-CDG(stop)-LHR-TXL(stop)-LHR-SFO?

4. oscietra
    Original Member

oscietra Silver Member

Status Points:
    I don't *think* there are any oneworld carriers flying CDG-TXL.

BA would certainly only fly via London, and I think that would be too many connections for a single award (though may be wrong on that).

Suggest you book SFO-LHR-CDG (or ORY) and then TXL-LHR-SFO using the BA redemption (assuming there's availability), and then book the PAR-TXL on the train (one way plane trips in Europe are usually silly expensive and the trains are excellent, though book F and bring your own food!).

Make sure you keep the stopovers in London under 24hrs to eliminate the £250ish of APD tax charge.

The train might even be quite fun in an overnight sleeper:

http://www.eurorailways.com/products/night_trains/paris_to_berlin.htm

...though I'm sure there would be faster trains during the day.

5. adamhoolhorst

Status Points: