Award and Earning/Spending Strategy

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by webdes03, Sep 2, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. webdes03

webdes03 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Note: I don't want this to become another argument about the spend-based status. Obviously the game is significantly different now, I'm really looking for advice on the value of miles to replace fares vs. buying upgradable fares.

We're wrapping up our vacation (second to last day in Vienna, then the VIE-STR-EWR-RDU routing home). I'm going to post this outside of Teh Box because I'm so far behind and don't want to read replies and miss other stuff. We'll see if anyone notices my little poast here.

As there's been much discussion around my travel plans for next year, I wanted to solicit some advice from those who have been playing this game longer than I. I know much of the game, and I'm pretty savvy, but I'm relatively new to turning left at the door.

The quick overview is that my better half (now soon to be wife) got a bit spoiled on this trip. We will normally fly E+ TATL, and now that she's experienced J (even UA J at that) she's already excited about more premium cabin travel. I travel for work, though in my new position travel will be down from what I was previously doing, and I don't expect more than a trip or two between now and the end of the year. I've had about 6-months travel free, and I'll just barely requalify as silver in just over a month. I'm somewhat sad to see my gold status go, but getting back to gold this year is just unattainable.