Avios Redemption Calculator

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by merice107, Jan 25, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. merice107

merice107 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I tried to use the BA website avios calculator to see how many avios is would cost to fly from Hong Kong to Male. It said it came up with an error. I then logged in to my account and searched like I was making a reservation. I also received an error message. Is there a way to see how many avios I would need for a one way ticket?

I am new to avios and have not ever used them, or even really looked in to using them.

2. progapanda

progapanda Silver Member

Status Points:
    It would be 20,000 Avios one-way, but you're going to have to wait for Malaysian to officially join the oneworld alliance in February before you will be able to use Avios to go from Hong Kong to Male (HKG-KUL-MLE).

merice107, viguera and skyvan like this.
  3. viguera
    Original Member

viguera Gold Member

Status Points:
    I don't think you can fly that route with BA or any partner...

But if you could, and do so direct, since it's around 2,900 miles it would fall under Zone 4, or 12,500 avios each way in economy.

4. skyvan

skyvan Gold Member

Status Points:
    It only works for direct non-stop flights sine most Avios (everything but multi partner awards) are done on a per segment basis. I can't seem to find any nonstop flights on any One World members HKG-MLE.

Malaysia Airlines is joining OneWorld in under a week and they do fly to MLE from KUL. So that's one option. You'll need 10000/20000/30000 (coach/business/first) Avios for HKG-KUL on MH or CX and then 10000/20000/30000 for KUL-MLE. These are one way so you're looking at 40k Avios round trip in coach, and 80k Avios in business.