Attn Newbies: Awards thru AA Vacations - A very decent alternative

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by Crush627, Mar 8, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. What was not possible through regular award booking channels; was possible through AA Vacations!

A bit of background... I'm a total noob, just started the miles game with the citi card bonuses. The entire objective was to make a family vacation happen in May/June. Mission accomplished and then some!

Lowest mileage awards would have been 140k total (4 ppl DFW/CUN). This ideal scenario was just not possible this close to travel dates... few available awards were horrible dates/times. [​IMG] Through AA Vacations I was able to book for May with great nonstop flights and a great hotel with room upgrade. I booked through the Citi cardholders portal for an additional discount (highly recommend). Bottom line... the mileage portion of the total was 151k, only 11k more than a traditional flight award. The cash portion turned out to be much less than what we were going to pay elsewhere... win/win! [​IMG]

TheBeerHunter and Philphactor like this.
  2. Philphactor
    Original Member

Philphactor Silver Member

Status Points:
    Are you referring to the reduce mileage awards, or something different?

3. No, I used the link below. The discount applies to the land portion of the vacation... meaning the needed mileage is reduced, not the cash portion. When you get to the payment step there is a slider to increase/decrease the miles vs cash, within limits.

http://www.aavacations.com/default.asp?CORP=CITI

Tenmoc likes this.
  4. skit53
    Original Member

skit53 Silver Member

Status Points:
    Based on various sample bookings, it seems like they are valuing the miles at 1.21 - 1.22 cents per mile.