Are CO's seat maps accurate reflections of F/C cabin loads?

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by Canadi>n, Mar 23, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. Canadi>n
    Original Member

Canadi>n Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to CO so not clear about the vagaries of its website. However, in making some recent bookings on UA and CO, and checking to see what my upgrade chances might be on the CO metal flights by checking front cabin seat maps, I am finding F cabins domestically almost always showing only one or two seats open. These are for flights midweek a month or more out. It doesn't seem logical that F could be that fully booked as I can look at UA metal flights on those same days and the front cabins are virtually empty.

So does CO fiddle with the display of open seats in its front cabins? Or is it really selling F seats this far out?

2. Golfingboy
    Original Member

Golfingboy Gold Member

Status Points:
    If F seats are occupied then it is occupied, however, if there are open F seats it is possible that some people purchased those seats but have not selected a seat yet...

FWIW, seat maps are not the best indicator for determining how many F inventory is open... I would suggest you to use Expertflyer/KVS or use Flightstats to see how many F inventory is still available...

3. IAH oil boys with lots of money to waste :)

Golfingboy likes this.
  4. Golfingboy
    Original Member

Golfingboy Gold Member

Status Points:
    And EWR financial firms demanding a premium from their clients so they can burn money flying in the front :)

5. Canadi>n
    Original Member

Canadi>n Gold Member

Status Points:
    Guess they're all off to HNL on the same flight I'm starting my SEA MR outbound!

6. Financial firms are spending taxpayer bail out money...:) Only America will bail out your failing firm then pay you $$$ billions to run it again. Brilliant.:confused:

Golfingboy likes this.
  7. Hartmann
    Original Member

Hartmann Gold Member