[Answered] conversations

Discussion in 'Feedback/Support/Suggestions' started by Kagehitokiri, Apr 12, 2011.  |  Print Topic

  1. Kagehitokiri
    Original Member

    Kagehitokiri Silver Member

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    218
    Status Points:
    445
    when new people are invited to existing conversation, do they see the previous discussion?

    also, my understanding is that private messages are usually pretty much private, as in the host does not store them. im thinking this would be different with conversations...?
     
  2. Gargoyle
    Original Member

    Gargoyle Milepoint Guide

    Messages:
    22,014
    Likes Received:
    96,541
    Status Points:
    20,020
    Yes. When a conversation is first established there is a check button to "Allow anyone in the conversation to invite others". By default that is switched off- so the OP has to deliberately set that in advance of starting the conversation, or no one new can be invited in.
     
  3. Tim
    Original Member

    Tim Admin

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    428
    Status Points:
    525
    They do see the full conversation when invited after it started, yes.

    I'm not sure what you mean by "the host does not store them", but conversations are stored on the milepoint server and can only be seen by people that have been invited to view the conversation. As Gargoyle points out, keep in mind that there are situations where anyone in a conversation can add others to the conversation if the settings are set up correctly by the originator of the conversation. Hope that helps.
     
  4. ACMM
    Original Member

    ACMM Gold Member

    Messages:
    25,788
    Likes Received:
    113,113
    Status Points:
    20,020
    I would think the 'host' has to store them in some fashion ... these cannot be in the cloud with no host - there is always a host somewhere.
     
  5. Kagehitokiri
    Original Member

    Kagehitokiri Silver Member

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    218
    Status Points:
    445
    one person gets a PM and deletes it. if a bunch of people are in a conversation, it cant be deleted.
    very interesting

    can OP always invite more?
     
  6. Tim
    Original Member

    Tim Admin

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    428
    Status Points:
    525
    This is correct, a conversation is not deleted until all participating members have left the conversation.

    The OP always has the option to invite more if they have not gotten to their limit for that conversation. Depending on user level there are limits to the number of people you can invite to any one conversation.
     
  7. Kagehitokiri
    Original Member

    Kagehitokiri Silver Member

    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    218
    Status Points:
    445

Share This Page