Amman / Royal Jordanian questions

Discussion in 'Middle East' started by Aktchi, May 31, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Aktchi
    Original Member

Aktchi Silver Member

Status Points:
    I had to book a Business Class award ORD-DEL-ORD on a short notice. Outbound is on CX via HKG and BKK. Return on RJ via AMM and YUL, in Crown class.

First time on RJ and in AMM, I shall be grateful for some advice and guidance:

(1) AMM Hotels. I have no knowledge of AMM. Flight availability is forcing a 2-day stopover, which I am happy to make most of. My flight reaches AMM at 9AM, a normal hour. Will there be tourist help desks to help find me a decent cheap hotel? Or should I try to do best on my own in advance?

(2) Airbus 340 v 330. So far there is no availability in AMM-ORD direct (Airbus 340). I am tentatively booked on AMM-YUL (Airbus 330). How is the Crown Class seat on the 330? Would the 340 be so much better that I should hold out for other connections? I don't care so much about the extra YUL-ORD flight, but about being able to sleep on the big TATL.

Thank you very much.

jbcarioca likes this.
  2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    Have you checked whether Jordan requires a visa, perhaps a transit visa? Also, what about a visa for India? Are there health requirements or recommendations?

jbcarioca likes this.
  3. jadec

jadec Active Member

Status Points:
    Jordan does require a visa on arrival for most nationalities: 20JD (cash only) but there is an exchange counter right by the visa queue. I didn't notice a hotel booking service but I already had a hotel booked. Another option to staying in Amman is to stay in Madaba (smaller town, closer to AMM and some historical mosaics and sites, etc).

jbcarioca likes this.
  4. MLW20
    Original Member

MLW20 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Amman is an interesting city. There are some sites worth checking out in the city.