Amex platinum or SPG Amex

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by steelgal32, Mar 14, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. steelgal32
    Original Member

steelgal32 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to all of this mile business ( goodness its like a full-time job). Today, I signed up and received the Amex platinum card with 50,000 bonus points. I am now trying to decide if I need the Amex SPG personal and business.
    Can someone much brighter than me explain why I should choose a $15,000 spend for an extra 10k SPG miles on Amex SPG over a $1,000 spend on platinum and how this will help me in the end? (assuming there is an end, right?!)

YULtide likes this.
  2. jammanxc
    Original Member

jammanxc Silver Member

Status Points:
    you should get both cards :)

3. TennisPro
    Original Member

TennisPro Silver Member

Status Points:
    Let's be honest, if you've come this far... there is no end. [​IMG]
    Awesome on the Amex Plat! That was my first deal, too. It feels pretty good when you see those 50k membership rewards points post. It's mildly addictive.
    Definitely get both Amex SPG cards. Spend $1,000 on Amex Platinum first. Then, if you can spend $15,000 that you were going to spend anyway, put that on the SPG cards. More bonus. Still 10k bonus, even without the spend. Some folks on here get pretty creative to meet minimum spending requirements.
    Most folks on here value Starwood points at a greater value than Membership Rewards points, because of the 25% bonus to transfer to airlines, and some pretty decent hotel deals. Like probably a value of about 2.5 cents per SPG point, and maybe 1.8 cents per MR point. So, the SPG cards are good for spend anyway. That's my main spend card now, when not meeting some minimum spend requirement to get a bonus.
    Hope that helps. [​IMG]

ilimas likes this.
  4. KyRoamer
    Original Member

KyRoamer Gold Member

Status Points: