American Express Platinum Concierge

Discussion in 'American Express | Membership Rewards' started by ajrsalmin, Aug 22, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. ajrsalmin

ajrsalmin Member

Status Points:
    I'm somewhat new to the American Express Platinum card (US) and am wondering about people's experience with the plat concierge service. Has anyone gotten anything extraordinary? What have you used them for?

dc_traveler likes this.
  2. sleepyintheair
    Original Member

sleepyintheair Silver Member

Status Points:
    All about expectations in my experience. Miracle workers they are not, but they can be helpful. They tend not to have local knowledge, and are prone to solutions that approximate what you could get from google/national directories, but will sometimes do legwork for you that saves time and are generally helpful. Examples being the best perhaps:

- A few years ago when I was organizing a family Christmas I asked them to find me a way to get a tree delivered to a house I rented in Sun Valley. They pointed me to a national distributor that quoted nearly $1k... 15min of googling and calling a local nursery on my own and they agreed to hold one for me to pickup after hours on Dec. 23rd for 40 bucks. Concierge fail.

- When I moved to a new city I was looking for a place that sold high-end appliances, and an email to AmEx concierge produced at list of Miele dealers. After a follow up request the rep called every dealer on the list and let me know which carried washers/dryers as opposed to just vacuums. Concierge win.