Airline card miles versus Capitol One, Barclay's, etc. miles

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by disambiguous1, Oct 15, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. disambiguous1

disambiguous1 Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm a newbie to mileage/rewards cards, etc. In fact most of the flying I've done was when I hitched rides with friends who owned planes and I pitched in for gas, so I've never worried about airline points and miles before.

Last year I took a trip to Italy with my daughter, and I've got a little under 10,000 miles with United. They expire at the end of November. I could get a United Visa card, and if I do the miles won't expire.

In the spring of 2015 when my daughter graduates, my wife wants to take her on a trip to the ancestral home in Ireland. We spend scads of money now, between credit union Visa and Amex and etc., but I don't have any rewards programs in place. I'm considering getting either the United Visa or the Capitol One, or the Barclay's Card, to earn credits toward that trip.

My question is, the "generic" cards say you earn so many miles for this and that and there are no blackout dates, but how do their miles compare to the credit cards from the airlines? IOW, if I get 25,000 miles on the United card, is it worth more than the 25,000 miles on the Capitol One card? Or the same? Or does the comparison vary?

AND-- if I am worried about bumping into credit limits and get several cards, like an Amex to go along with whatever Visa I choose, is it possible to combine the mileage credits? And can airline credit card miles be combined with "generic" travel rewards card miles? What problems would I run into with this?

Many thanks for all info, and suggestions welcome. -DA1

2. moongoddess

moongoddess Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome to MilePoint!