Airline Branded Cards vs. Hotel Branded Cards

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Credit Cards' started by vickers, Mar 25, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. vickers

vickers Gold Member

Status Points:
    Im still a bit new to this game, and I wanted to verify something....

From my understanding, to receive the benefits from the Airline Branded credit cards, you have to book your ticket with that card. If you do not, having the card does not give you the benefits (free checked bag, priority boarding, etc....)

However, to receive the benefits from the Hotel Branded credit cards, you do not have to pay for the room with that card, as the benefits are built into the status itself. However, in most cases, you can earn bonus points by charging the hotel room to that branded credit card.

Here is the reason I am asking.... I fly every other month or so from HSV. Due to the varying costs, I split my travel between American and Delta. I also use a corporate credit card. I just applied for and was approved for Hilton Citi Reserve card, mainly due to the gold status.

I dont really churn, or at least I have not yet, but from my understanding, since I am not loyal to one airline, I should steer away from Airline Branded credit cards for more universal ones. Or am I missing something...

Thanks.

gregm and Newscience like this.
  2. pointshogger

pointshogger Silver Member

Status Points:
    It depends how you want to earn your points. You can focus on calculating the credit card that gives you the best return for your $.

One option if you do fly often enough, would be to use the co-branded airline credit card to pay for the ticket of the airline that you are about to fly. If you have a Delta flight, then pay with a Delta-branded credit card.

If you do not have a co-branded branded credit card with that airline, then just use the credit card that gives you the greatest value of return for paying for that flight.

3. gconnery

gconnery Silver Member

Status Points: