Advice needed: LAX to AKL award in business

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by cleome, Mar 5, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. cleome

cleome Active Member

Status Points:
    I am a newbie to award flight booking. I am looking forward to fly LAX to AKL (roundtrip) in business in April. What carriers have the lowest mileage requirement in this sector?

2. AndreaRH
    Original Member

AndreaRH Silver Member

Status Points:
    Do you have miles from a particular airline program that you're hoping to use for this trip, or will you be transferring miles to your airline of choice from a program that American Express Membership Rewards or SPG? Knowing that info may help Milepointers advise you.

3. cleome

cleome Active Member

Status Points:
    I have about 80K SPG. 90K AA, 25K UA, 50K CO.

4. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    One of the first thing you need to do is to check availability on both Star Alliance and Oneworld. There is a good chance that awards may not be available. For Oneworld, a rt in business is 125K miles. On Star Alliance it is 135K.

For AA you could reach the 125K by transferring SPG points to AA. The rate is 1:1 with a 5K bonus for each 20K you transfer. Unfortunately, the transfer from SPG to UA or CO is not nearly as good. It takes 2 SPG points to get 1 UA or CO mile (plus a 2.5K bonus for each 20K of SPG you transfer).

One possible option is to see if you can get one way award tickets. This would allow you to mix alliances - may or may not work depending on what metal you fly.

Bottom line, your best bet is to check Oneworld and see if there is availability - but at this late date it may not be possible.

There are threads that have been started about how to search for award travel. Look and study that, it will help.