AA vs BA - Best Option for AUS

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by Colby_J, Mar 6, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. Colby_J

Colby_J Member

Hi there - I have a new guy question regarding BA or AA

I am platinum on AA and my travels this year will mainly include mostly trips to LHR and on to eastern Europe. BA just began flying direct to LHR from AUS. My question is - is it better to book through BA (with no status) or continue to book through AA or does it really matter? My company doesn't pay for business class, so any upgrades would come by way of points or pay.

I am very new to the FF world - but would hate to look back in a year and say - dang, I should have...

Any advice is appreciated.
  2. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Welcome to MP.

In general, fly which ever of the two carriers you prefer.

The one item to be mindful of is to double check that there are no fare class haircuts for earning on AA off of low-fare BA tickets, if you're on a low-fare ticket. I don't recall definitively if there is an earnings haircut on low-price BA economy fares...but suspect there may be. If this were the case, and max miles accrual was your objective...then you'd need to fly AA.

Your AA Platinum status will get you a moderate level of status on BA - "sapphire". The most notable benefits will include business class check-in (even on economy tickets) and lounge access on international (including intra-Europe) journeys. (You'll get the same business check-in and lounge access benefits on either carrier.)
  3. newbluesea
    Original Member

newbluesea Gold Member

No brainer here stick with AA.
    1) If you are planning to upgrade with any sort instrument you have a greater number of options with AA and can upgrade from just about any fare.