AA SWU upgrade availability direct vs connection

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by Jason, Jun 24, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. Jason
    Original Member

Jason Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'm new to the world of searching for upgrades, but is availability linked to your final destination? What I mean is I was just playing around with expertflyer and wanted to see if there were any flights to Europe next May that had availability to upgrade to business class. I tried London direct from DFW and couldn't find 2 available. But when I tried CDG, there was availability on the flight to London, but not on the BA flight on to Paris. Is that normal?

Attached Files:

2. Gardyloo
    Original Member

Gardyloo Gold Member

Status Points:
    AA SWUs are only good on AA metal, so you won't see any availability on BA metal. So you saw C space on DFW-xLHR(-CDG) but not on the same flights but terminating in London? Curious.

3. AZjohn

AZjohn Silver Member

Status Points:
    Yes, I have seen exactly what Jason has written about. Looking LHR-DFW early next year to check out the new 777's but nothing available. Using ZRH-LHR-DFW I get 2-C open up (between LHR-DFW), and assure everyone this is on AA metal new configured 777 business (not BA).
    Strange to me and would like to also know if this is normal for UG searches?

4. Jason
    Original Member

Jason Silver Member

Status Points:
    Yes, that's right. I posted screen shots too. I thought it was strange.

5. DCtrAAveler
    Original Member

DCtrAAveler Gold Member

Status Points: