A year in review.

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by delff128, Aug 18, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. delff128

delff128 Silver Member

Status Points:
    A year ago I was a starving graduate student held up in my office, barricaded in fact, slaving away on my masters thesis. At some point, most likely in a haze of delirium along with a light sprinkling of agony (probably due to low blood sugar and the fact that I had been living out of my office), I decided to take a break and fantasize about a world outside academia. I reminisced about the time in which I had lived in New Zealand; traveling and exploring nearly every weekend. I had to find a way to get back!! Queue the nexus of my points and miles addiction. Prior, I had no real experience with miles/points, much less credit cards and even sign up bonuses. I began reading various travel blogs and undertaking a silent observer position here at Milepoint, but a year and 92 agonizing single spaced pages later, I have finished my masters thesis in physics, I am ears deep in the points and miles game, I have accrued a total of 302,000 points/miles, mainly UR and United miles, achieved Hyatt platinum status outside of the Milepoint premium membership (which is amazing and I am thrilled to be able to support Milepoint), and I am composing my first thread here on Milepoint. Needless to say, New Zealand still tops my list, but my travel aspirations have vastly expanded. Exciting times! I look forward to getting to know everyone here in the Milepoint community, throw in my two cents where I can, and continue to learn from the veterans in the crowd.

Current Credit Cards
    • Chase Sapphire Preferred
    • Chase Freedom
    • Chase United MileagePlus Explore Card

2. Randy Petersen
    Original Member

Randy Petersen Founder

Status Points: