*A Lounges with Full UA Club Card

Discussion in 'Star Alliance' started by mustardketchup, May 15, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. mustardketchup

mustardketchup New Member

Status Points:
    By holding a full UA club card, do I need to be flying the specific *A metal to access the specific *A club? Or by holding any *A boarding pass allows me to access any *A club with my UA club card in hand?

Will transiting allow me to access *A lounges or only on departure or arrival?

eg. transit in NRT on UA boarding pass, could I access ANA lounges? Or flying out of NRT on UA, could I access ANA lounges? Or do I need to be flying specifically ANA to access ANA lounges?

Cali94102 and SuperKirby like this.
  2. MSPeconomist
    Original Member

MSPeconomist Gold Member

Status Points:
    I'm not an expert in UA, but the normal airline lounge membership gives access only to that airline's lounges, sometimes only when flying the airline's alliance. Also, USA lounges don't make much distinction between arrival and departure (or transit) if you can get to the lounge door, but overseas lounges generally are departure (including transit) only and not arrivals lounges unless they are specifically designated as such. Your card should get you into all UA/CO and US lounges, including the business class section of the UA lounge at NRT. It probably does not help with other *A lounges unless they are designated as UA lounges too, meaning jointly operated lounges if there are any. There should be something on the UA website that lists lounges and states access policies.

To access other *A lounges, you normally need *A *Gold status (and an international itinerary for UA/CO and US members) or a premium cabin ticket (including award tickets) on a *A carrier or to be the guest of someone with guest privileges. Transcons on certain routes can have special rules and one must pay attention to the UA definition of international.

Cali94102 likes this.
  3. General_Flyer
    Original Member