700 Miles Shy...

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by bdempsey1040, Aug 22, 2012.  |  Print Topic

1. bdempsey1040

bdempsey1040 Member

Status Points:
    Hey I am a newbie around here. But now that I have found this place I think I will settle in.

I am currently about 750 miles shy of a new status with UA.

Is taking another flight the only way to get over the hill?

I have some travel coming up, but thought I would ask for future reference as well.

Sweet Willie likes this.
  2. genemk2

genemk2 Gold Member

Status Points:
    You can buy PQMs if you have an active reservation in your profile, although they cost about 13 cents per mile, so 750 PQMs would cost about $100.

3. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    If you have non-refundable travel booked which will get you over the hump then about a week before the trip I'd call MPSC, explain the situation, and ask to be bumped up in advance of the trip. IME they have generally been cooperative on that.

bqkali, aptraveler, mht_flyer and 4 others like this.
  4. BuckleandBoots

BuckleandBoots Silver Member

Status Points:
    I'll second that!

I'm guessing your upcoming travel will push you over the mark so no need for a mileage run.

Please let us know how the phone call goes!

Sweet Willie and aptraveler like this.
  5. desamo

desamo Gold Member

Status Points:
    I would not have thought to ask for this, but I'll be at 49,449 miles (with a non-refundable trip coming up) when Gold would be useful.

mht_flyer likes this.
  6. Jenny & Curt
    Original Member

Jenny & Curt Gold Member

Status Points:
    My current offers (RDM + PQM) have been closer to 10 cents, all in, so more like $75 for the OP. If calling is a no-go, and gold would be useful prior to the travel, then booking some very short run, using Award Accelerator to buy PQMs and then cancelling the "trial" itinerary, might be in order.

7. desamo

desamo Gold Member