5k miles short on united for status.

Discussion in 'Mileage Runs/Travel Hacking' started by countgary, Dec 15, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. countgary

countgary Active Member

Status Points:
    I'm very new to this, so apologies in advance. But, I literally just got back from sfo-nrt-mnl round trip on ANA where I thought I was only going to get maybe 5k miles due to fare class, but it looks like the whole 14k posted to my mileage plus. As such I'm only 5200 short from getting silver status.
    Any advice on a quick run I can make for not too much? It will probably have to be on UA, as only two of my flights were on them so far.
    I'm out of sfo, so sfo,sjc, oak all work.

marcwint55 likes this.
  2. secretsea18
    Original Member

secretsea18 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Can't say if they might be cheap but you can get the right number of miles on flights from SFO to Hawaii or the east coast. Last two weeks in December are usually $$.

marcwint55 likes this.
  3. marcwint55

marcwint55 Gold Member

Status Points:
    Unless you plan on traveling a great deal on United next year, silver may not mean that much to you or be worth the cost to obtain.

traveltoomuch likes this.
  4. traveltoomuch

traveltoomuch Silver Member

Status Points:
    This post has some links to tools that may help. Indeed, these last two weeks of December are tough, especially since most good fares require some advance purchase.