500 mile upgrades

Discussion in 'American Airlines | AAdvantage' started by milerunner, Apr 10, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. milerunner

milerunner Silver Member

Status Points:
    I am new to EXP, former Usair CP. I noticed while I was checking out AA.com that I have 24, 500 mile upgrades. I thought you do not get these if you are EXP, but instead you get complimentary upgrades. I must have missed something last time I read up on this.

daninstl and Newscience like this.
  2. brodyf

brodyf Gold Member

Status Points:
    You don't earn the 500 mile upgrades as an EXP, nor do you need them for yourself to upgrade. EXP upgrades are complimentary. You can only use them for a companion upgrade while EXP or if you ever drop down in status. They do not expire.

3. timfrost

timfrost Silver Member

Status Points:
    They must have automatically bestowed stickers on US members based on past travel, whether you need them or not.

vickers, daninstl and Newscience like this.
  4. Newscience

Newscience Gold Member

Status Points:
    OTOH, there are likely a few bugs left to be ironed out in the "new AA". When I log in to the AA website from a computer, it shows that I am (correctly) Pt, while my smartphone app shows that I am EXP.

flyforawg and daninstl like this.
  5. milerunner

milerunner Silver Member

Status Points:
    So in other words they can only be used with companions traveling in the same reservation. Also if you drop status they are still useable at a lower tier or no status at all?

satman40, daninstl and Newscience like this.
  6. milerunner

milerunner Silver Member

Status Points:
    That's bound to happen. It does sound like this merger was a lot more smooth than NWA/delta and united/continental mergers

satman40, daninstl and Newscience like this.
  7. daninstl

daninstl Gold Member

Status Points:
    They cannot be used if you drop below Gold status. You must at least be Gold to use the 500 mile upgrades.

vickers and satman40 like this.