43 American Travelers Reveal What Foreigners Think Of American Food

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Dining' started by sobore, Apr 24, 2014.  |  Print Topic

1. sobore
    Original Member

sobore Gold Member

Status Points:
    http://thoughtcatalog.com/michael-k...eveal-what-foreigners-think-of-american-food/

[​IMG]

1. We heard you guys like milk
    I was an exchange student in Japan. Someone told my host family that American kids drink tons of milk. When I arrived at their house, they showed me their fridge filled with “Sno” brand milk. They had also bought me yogurt and ice cream to make me feel at home. I’m lactose intolerant.

2. Oh god, this is hysterical
    One of my favorite things I saw while traveling was at a zoo in Denmark. In the nocturnal house they had all the animals set up in their natural habitats.
    We stroll past the opossums and their habitat was a trailer park with an overturned trashcan.

3. A cherry tomato perhaps…?
    In China, I ordered a sundae. On top was a tomato instead of a cherry.

4. Russia thinks America is still in the 1800s
    I went to a restaurant in Moscow called ‘The American Bar & Grill.’ There was a bearskin in the doorway, the whole place was decorated like an 1800s saloon. All the waiters were dressed as cowboys and said ‘Howdy, partners’ in thick Russian accents.

5. We do love our bubblys
    In one restaurant, in Italy “American Champagne” was coke. I approved.

6. Then what’s Canada Sauce?
    In Haiti, they call ketchup, “American Sauce”

7. It’s like how we imagine Italians to eat pizza and pasta for every meal…right?
    I stayed with a friend in Italy for a summer. His mom wanted me to feel at home, so she bought what she thought were traditional American foods. She came back from the grocery store with ketchup, Chips Ahoy, and Coke. She expected me to put ketchup on every single meal, and she seemed disappointed when I told her that chocolate chip cookies are not, in fact, a breakfast food.