1st Trip Out of the Country-Costa Rica

Discussion in 'General Discussion | Miles/Points' started by Miagal324, May 17, 2013.  |  Print Topic

1. Miagal324

Miagal324 Member

Status Points:
    Hello everyone, I am a newbie traveler and began accumulating points 6 months ago. I would like to travel to Costa Rica next month but I do not know how to transfer credit card points to airline tickets. I am trying to find the best flight and hotel deals using my points. Thanks for your help.

2. edekba

edekba Gold Member

Status Points:
    What kind of points you talking about

3. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    One month is usually pretty tight to plan an award trip. I suggest you specify what type of points and how many you've collected. Then the folks here might be able to come up with some helpful ideas. :)

4. Miagal324

Miagal324 Member

Status Points:
    I have Chase cards and American Express cards.

5. Miagal324

Miagal324 Member

Status Points:
    Both cards have approximately 100,000 points each.

6. mattsteg
    Original Member

mattsteg Gold Member

Status Points:
    What you can do depends on the exact cards you have.

edekba likes this.
  7. MX

MX Gold Member

Status Points:
    You can transfer American Express MR points to British Airways, then use those to buy award travel on AA. I see there's availability in business class in June for MIA-SJO route.

8. NYBanker
    Original Member

NYBanker Gold Member

Status Points:
    Where do you want to fly from? I'll show you some itineraries that will work.

9. thepointstraveler

thepointstraveler Silver Member

Status Points:
    Where are you flying from? What places do you plan on seeing in Costa Rica? I just spent a week in Costa Rica in March and it was amazing! Are you looking to spend your time on the beach in a resort? Or will you be spending most of your time sight seeing and are less concerned about how high end the hotel is?

10. flyforawg

flyforawg Silver Member

Status Points: