130k miles to use on US Airways- Help with optimizing these miles for the best trip

Discussion in 'US Airways | Dividend Miles' started by HassanChop, Jan 10, 2015.  |  Print Topic

1. HassanChop

HassanChop New Member

Status Points:
    Hello,

I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this but since it's the US Airways forum...

My wife and I have 130k worth of miles and we want to fly somewhere end of March of this year. The reason for that specific time frame is because she is expecting and we want use the miles before the baby comes.

I want to travel somewhere to a nice beach (the Caribbean maybe).

I've used the US Airways award travel site to look at potential trips and how many miles.

My question is does anyone have advice on some good places to travel and optimize those miles with US Airways?
    Am I better off paying cash for a ticket versus using the miles?

I'm new to the whole flyer programs. I've followed the advise on the site and got my first credit card (The Barclays 50,000 miles) and signed up for hotel loyalty programs.

I'll continue to research but since our time is getting limited I wanted to reach out. I'm open to other places other than the beach.

I'll be happy to research more if anyone has advise or can point to the right links/sites.

Thanks so much

My home airports are DCA (Reagon National) and BWI (Baltimore)

Last edited: Jan 10, 2015
    daninstl likes this.
  2. Wandering Aramean
    Original Member

Wandering Aramean Gold Member

Status Points:
    Presuming you're starting somewhere in CONUS and looking for a beach there are plenty of options available and the 130k points should be enough to get you there. Tickets should be 35k r/t in coach of 60k r/t in first if you go to the Caribbean, assuming you can find seats.

Start by searching for flights (either on the US or AA site) from MIA or CLT to your island of choice and then fill in the connecting flights to get you to the gateway.

daninstl likes this.
  3. HassanChop