100k from United & Continental CC signup bonuses

Discussion in 'United Airlines | MileagePlus' started by jstn, Apr 6, 2011.  |  Print Topic

1. jstn

jstn Active Member

Status Points:
    Hi everyone,
    I've been wandering around flyertalk for a couple of months and I finally decided to join Milepoint!
    I had a question about applying for both the Chase, 50k United Mileage Plus Signature Visa and the 50k Continental OnePass credit cards in the hopes of getting 100k miles after the merger. Will I be able to apply for these two credit cards consecutively? I was targeted by mail with the United card and the offer expires in May while the Continental card expires at the end of this month, I believe.

I've read that people have been getting automatically denied once they apply for both cards and I've read somewhere else that people have been successful if they apply for the cards immediately after another. Does anybody have suggestions or experience in doing this?

Thanks!

hulagrrl210, Cholula and Rlpro like this.
  2. We applied for both consecutively after applying for the Capital One Venture card. We got approved on the Venture card and the Continental but were not instantly approved for the United card. We received a letter about a week later and phoned Chase. They declined the United card due to too many recent inquires. We suggested they take half the credit line from the Continental card and use that for the United. They agreed and issued a United card a few days later.

3. Rlpro
    Original Member

Rlpro Silver Member

Status Points:
    Welcome jstn! And good luck.

Smart move. Enjoy your miles!

Mikel likes this.
  4. deant
    Original Member

deant Milepoint Guide

Status Points:
    Welcome Justn.